What is Gluten? Gluten is a type of protein found in many types of grains, including rye, barley, and wheat.
Most people are able to digest gluten without experiencing issues.
However, eating foods that contain gluten can cause side effects in those with celiac disease or a sensitivity to gluten.
For those with celiac disease consuming gluten triggers an immune response that causes the body to attack healthy tissue. This results in symptoms like diarrhea, nutritional deficiencies, and fatigue.
Meanwhile, those with gluten sensitivity may experience issues like bloating, gas, and nausea after eating foods that contain gluten
For these individuals, opting for ingredients that are free of gluten is key to preventing side effects and maintaining overall health.
(You might also like to read this blog post answering the question: does chocolate go bad?)
Why isn’t all chocolate gluten-free?
Following a gluten-free diet can be challenging. It requires strict dedication and diligence to determine which foods can be safely eaten and which should be avoided.
Sweets — such as chocolate — are a tricky topic for those on a gluten-free diet, as many kinds are made using flour, barley malt, or other ingredients that often contain gluten.
Not all chocolate can be included in your gluten free diet, even if gluten isn’t listed as a deliberate ingredient on the ingredients list.
This is because some different brands of chocolate carry ‘may contain’ statements, meaning the manufacturer has decided that there is a risk that the product could be contaminated with gluten.
(You might also like to read this post asking what chocolate is gluten-free in the UK?).
Pure Chocolate is Gluten-Free
Pure, unsweetened chocolate derived from roasted cacao beans is naturally gluten-free.
However, few people eat pure chocolate, as it tastes much different than the sweet confectionery that most are familiar with.
Several types of high-quality chocolate on the market are produced using just a few simple ingredients like liquified cacao beans, cocoa butter, and sugar — all of which are considered gluten-free.
On the other hand, many common brands of chocolate contain 10–15 ingredients — including powdered milk, vanilla, and soy lecithin.
Therefore, it’s important to carefully check the label for any gluten-containing ingredients.
(You might also like to read this post asking: What is the best chocolate for diabetics?)
Is Whitakers Chocolates Gluten-Free?
You’ll be pleased to hear that YES the majority of our boxed chocolates and gifts are gluten-free.
This is clearly marked on the back of pack labelling. Also look out for the Gluten-Free logo that appears on the back of our boxes too.
Customers can now buy our products with confidence. We also cater for those following a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle!
Before you go read this post to find out what chocolate is ok for a vegan to eat.