What is Plain Chocolate?

What is Plain Chocolate?

With so many different types of chocolate available, from white to dark and milk to ruby, plus all the flavour combinations and dietary variations (vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, etc.)

It can sometimes feel like a minefield when deciding what chocolate is best to use, especially when cooking and baking.

So that is why this blog exists. To help you find the right chocolate or the right occasion.

Let’s talk about plain chocolate.

Is Plain Chocolate Dark Chocolate?

A slab of dark chocolate

The simple answer is Yes! Plain chocolate is dark chocolate.

The term plain chocolate was used years ago before milk chocolate was introduced.

After this, the term dark chocolate was used to distinguish between milk and dark chocolate.

Some recipe books still use the term plain in reference to dark chocolate.

So wherever you see a recipe calling for plain chocolate, you should always use dark chocolate.

What is the Best Plain Chocolate for Cooking?

We would always recommend using couverture chocolate rather than regular dark chocolate.

Couverture chocolate has a higher content of cocoa butter, allowing it to melt faster and making it easier to work with.

We’ve created Easymelt dark chocolate mini shards.

These thin little squares are perfect for cooking, baking, melting, dipping, flavouring or decorating your chocolate creations.

Click here to find out more…

Is Plain Chocolate the Best for Baking and Cooking?

Dark chocolate is the failsafe chocolate to use in baking and cooking.

It’s the professional chef’s favourite, and we recommend it for most cooking and baking recipes.

The higher cocoa percentage found in dark chocolate means it’s easier to melt and work with, plus it has a richer flavour and less sugar than white or milk chocolate.

Is Plain Chocolate Vegan?

Plain chocolate is naturally vegan as it doesn’t contain milk or dairy products.

However, you should always read the ingredients label to check for allergens.

At Whitakers Chocolates, we register our dark chocolate products with the Vegan Society, meaning you can buy our products with confidence knowing they are vegan-friendly.

Plus, all our chocolates are suitable for vegetarians, and most are gluten-free (always check the label to be sure).

Some Final Notes On Plain Chocolate and its Uses

Plain chocolate is just another name for dark chocolate.

It is an older name that isn’t used as often as it used to be, the most common place you will see it is in recipe books.

Whether you are a dark chocolate lover or not, we always recommend plain chocolate as the preferred choice for cooking or baking.

If you are using white or milk chocolate in your recipe, then one important thing to consider is reducing the sugar used, as the chocolate will add the sweetness you require.

We’d love to see your cooking/baking masterpieces, so please tag using #whitakerschocolates if you share your creations on social media.

Happy baking!

Comments are closed here.